TPS Hall of Fame will induct Etan Thomas

Etan Thomas, Danny Morgan and Joey Grayson are the next three selections announced for the Tulsa Public Schools Athletics Hall of Fame’s 2018 class.

They join Granville Liggins, Jonita Ford Criddle, Bill Van Burkleo and Terrell Lester, who will all be inducted during the sixth annual banquet at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 25, at the Marriott Southern Hills.

The remaining six inductees will be announced over the next two weekends. All nine current TPS high schools will be represented in the 2018 class.

Thomas helped Booker T. Washington win state basketball titles in 1995 and ‘96. He went on the play for Syracuse University from 1996-2000. Thomas spent 11 Years  in the NBA, primarily with Washington.

Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 3.36.46 PM.png

According to the bio on his website (, “he’s redefined himself ‘The Activist Athlete.’ Thomas defies the stereotype of the apolitical athlete, planting his roots in his formidable literary career, passion for mentoring and civic engagement.”

Morgan, a Webster graduate, has been a high school baseball coach for 43 years — 38 at Okmulgee and five at Jenks. He has 943 career wins.

Grayson, a 1965 All-State football selection for Rogers, was a defensive back on Oklahoma’s 1967 team that won the Orange Bowl. He later played for the University of Tulsa.

The induction reception will start at 5:30 p.m. Jan. 25. Tickets are $100 per plate or $1,000 per table. Corporate sponsorships also are available. Reservations for tables or individual seating can be made by contacting Lisa Norman in the TPS Athletics Department by calling 918-746-64